Oh My…..

The trials and tribulations of an expat wife are never ending. It was only last night at book club, G&T in hand, we were discussing the hectic social season that comes along at this time of year. Everyone’s nerves, certainly within my esteemed social circle, and it is obviously a rather posh social circle, are starting to get a little frazzled.

Diaries are crowded with end of year parties, farewell soiree’s and various fundraisers which obviously increase the need for Manicures, pedicures, facials and the odd massage too, never mind trying to fit in the extra hair appointments. Our host Alison last night had to serve frozen margaritas as the aperitif just to take the edge off.

Fortunately we have the maids, gardeners and drivers to assist us through this difficult time. I for one find managing the staff an altogether alarming experience. Do you let them sort your knicker drawer? I like mine colour co-ordinated but it is rather chancy if you have invested in “Spanx” and are relying on their rather nimble fingers not taking a fancy to what is in effect a necessity for us girls the coming season.

One lady, Chris, even flew to Dubai to purchase some “Spanx” (those extra strong holder inner knickers for the gentlemen readers) this lady had a cover story of her daughter going to see Justin Beiber…..but we know that was just for the benefit of the hubby. She says she didn’t go to the concert but I don’t ” Belieber”

This time last year it all got too much for me, I do believe I had a little swoon, not as a result of too much wine you understand, but just with regards to the thought that I may have to wear a dress to the Ball that I had worn previously, scary I know. Another Lady, Aine, I do believe I have mentioned her before, also had a swoon. Hers was as a result of becoming trapped in a tent. Well I say…

She regaled us with the story of how events unfolded and the general consensus was that “camping” is an altogether common activity that no expat wife should be subjected to. There is a member of our little group who is rather fond of this camping Malarky but Annabel is sooooo posh that we allow her the eccentricities that only proper toffs like her can carry off…….

Back to the the upcoming social calendar. I feel I should mention that the gentlemen feel the strain too. The tailor on road 9 is under a lot of pressure to outfit them appropriately. My hubby, the aforementioned Chris’s hubby and another lady Charlottes hubby have been dashing in and out with material for their dinner jackets, fittings and goodness knows what else, just to ensure they make a proper entrance.

I should mention that Charlotte is not a member of the book club but she is exceptionally posh. If truth be told she may well in fact be too posh for us……. a little like Annabel she also has those eccentricities that only the truly well bred can carry off. She has a penchant for wigs and fancy dress, second only to her hubby Mark who made a rather dashing appearance at our St Patricks day soirée in lederhosen……. oh My

Tally ho for now, I can’t be wittering away here with so much to do. I’m off to book my appointments for the coming weekends festivities. I can’t decide which colour to have my nails and it’s causing a panic in the wardrobe department. If I go for shocking pink it will clash with my serving platters on Friday, not that I will be serving obviously, there are staff for that, but it would look fabulous with a cocktail dress I have set aside for the event.

If I go for a burnt orange manicure it will compliment my evening attire for Thursday, but clash come Friday…..oh decisions, decisions….perhaps if I have a glass of vino with my lunch it will help me decide. What I really need is an on tap dispenser to help with decision making, here’s one recommended by Debbie, now I wonder do they deliver???

20130513-110503.jpg

7 thoughts on “Oh My…..

  1. Charlotte Nash Wanklin says:

    Bloody marvellous blog darling! Much uproarious laughter! Mwah mwah xxx

    Sent from my iPhone

    • t0ddlel0nd0n says:

      I have been trying to track down a Charlotte Nash Wanklin. Did you spend time in Vellore in the 90s? Sorry this is unrelated to this blog post and sorry if you are the wrong Charlotte….. Hari

      • maireadhoey says:

        Hi, just saw this no idea why it’s just popped up but I take it you’re friends with Charlotte? Who are you and I will pass on contact details

  2. barbara says:

    I would so love to meet you when i come to Cairo in June. I will be living here for three months. would you please send me an email? They will be filming me for a reality t.v.show in the u.s. and I would love for you to be on it.

  3. debbie says:

    HAHAHA, Fabulous as usual xxxxxxxxxx debs xxxxxxxxxxx

  4. Candice says:

    Dear irisheyesoncairo

    I’m the sub-editor of ExpatArrivals.com, a site devoted to developing comprehensive destination guides aimed at easing expat transition abroad. I came across your blog through the course of my research, and I was hoping I could convince you to share some of your expat insight with our site.

    Please let me know if you’d be interested in contributing, and do note that in exchange to our Egypt guide, I can provide you with promotional profile space on our site that you can use to levy exposure for your own pursuits (like your blog or business). Let me know if you’d be interested, and I can provide you with additional information.

    Regards

    Candice

Leave a Reply

