Live and Let Die……

I’m sticking with the movie theme………events in Egypt make even the most absurd movie plot look like a methodically planned, logical, rational, textbook classic. Mubarak has died AGAIN. I reckon we are up to 77 times now. My granny had a saying “you can’t kill a bad thing” and it seems to be true, but the famous line from Mr Big in the James Bond  movie “live and let Die is ringing in my ears….

Mr. Big: Names is for tombstones, baby! Y’all take this honkey out and WASTE HIM! NOW! 

Considering Mubaraks father/grand-father, depending on the source, lived to 105 we could be in for another 20 years of this ..is he?….isn’t he? Palava, so Mr Bigs plan seems to be the way to go.  With hindsight though, Mr Bigs plan didn’t come off…… I guess my granny had it right! 

That didn’t stop the twitter-verse kicking in with some snappy on liners…here’s a selection of the best.

DavidKenner:
“Hosni Mubarak declared clinically dead, but I’m pretty sure an Egyptian court can still overturn this”

SarahCarr:
“Mubarak is clinically dead on the busiest news night ever. A pain in the arse even while expiring”

Cairo67unedited:
“Nick Kristoff of the New York Times reports #Mubarak is dead with #Egypt in electoral crisis. Any minute now the aliens will land in #Tahrir”

Zeinobia:
“Now people believe Mubarak actually is alive and escaped prison, you know Elvis syndrome!!”

I’m with Zeinobia on this one, after all Elvis and Mubarak are one in the same, OK maybe that’s stretching it but his similarities with Bugsy in Jailhouse Rock can’t be denied.

Shifty Henry said to Bugs, “For Heaven’s sake,
no one’s lookin’, now’s our chance to make a break.”
Bugsy turned to Shifty and he said, “Nix nix,
I wanna stick around a while and get my kicks.”
Let’s rock, everybody, let’s rock.
Everybody in the whole cell block
was dancin’ to the Jailhouse Rock.

I guess that’s what he is up to, just sticking around to get his kicks. Obviously his ring side seat in Torah Prison wasn’t up to his usual standard. The 12millionLE spent on updating his facilities don’t seem to have been enough, so he is now safely ensconced in Maadi, much more to his liking. Its only a matter of time until he is back in his suite at the International Medical centre, jaccuzzi and all. I wonder will they fly in popcorn along with his favorite French food or will he have to make do with Paul Newmans microwave version to add to his viewing pleasure.

Hey-ho it’s 10.15am in Cairo at the moment, I wonder what today’s news will be? I need to get going and tidy up after last nights book club meeting at mine before I get sucked in to the dramas that are sure to unfold. I think for the next book club I will choose a good old fashioned conspiracy theory page turner, David Baldacci and the Camel Club seems appropriate. A camel club adventure set in Cairo now there’s a thought!!

Leave a Reply

